You may want to archive a goal to remove outdated or no longer relevant ones, declutter the goal list, and maintain a clear focus on active and meaningful goals.
To archive a goal,
Step 1: Select the goal (objective or key result) that you wish to delete from the list. You can switch between the lists you see on the screen by selecting the level of goals (My Goals, My Company, My Department) from the top left portion of the side navigation bar.
Step 2: Select Archive from the dropdown by clicking the Ellipsis menu to the extreme right of a goal name.
Step 3: The following prompt will be displayed if the goal does not have a child goal. Confirm your choice of archival by clicking on the Archive button.
Your goal would be archived successfully.
You can check out your archived goals in the Archived Goals section, below Preferences under GOALS SETTINGS.
You can also switch between timelines for archived goals in case you are unable to find the goal that you have archived.
Note: The Archived Goals section is only available for individuals with Admin access to the Goals module
Step 4: If your goal has one (or more) child goals, the following prompt will be displayed.
You can choose to either archive all the child goals along with the goal, else re-align them to a new parent
If you choose to archive all child goals, the entire goal tree belonging to your selected goal will be archived.
If you choose not to archive the child goals;
Step 1: You will be required to re-align the child goals to a new parent. Confirm the same by clicking on the Re-align option.
Step 2: Re-align the child goals to a new parent.
Select a new parent goal for the child goal tree.
For instance, in the above image, we have re-aligned the child goals for the objective “Build a team of high-performing engineers” to the new parent objective “Ensure the operational success of our technical teams”.
Step 3: Once you have re-aligned the child goal tree, select Re-align and Archive to archive the goal.
The goal would be archived successfully.
Thus, in our example above, only the objective “Build a team of high-performing engineers” is archived, while its child goals are aligned to the new parent goal “Ensure the operational success of our technical teams”.
Permanently deleting a goal
Note: Only individuals with Admin access to the Goals module can permanently delete a goal
You can also choose to delete a goal permanently in case it is dropped altogether and thus, de-clutter your Archived Goals section.
To Delete a goal permanently,
Step 1: Archive the goal by following the steps mentioned above.
Step 2: Visit the Archived Goals section.
Step 3: Once in the Archived Goals section, click on the Kebab menu relative to the goal that you want to delete permanently.
Step 4: Select Delete Permanently from the dropdown.
Your goal would be deleted permanently.
Note: Permanently deleted goals are permanently removed from the Mesh database and cannot be retrieved.
Note: Only individuals with Admin access to the Goals module can unarchive a goal
Unarchiving goals can help you re-visit them in case they need to be prioritized.
To Unarchive a goal,
Step 1: Visit the Archived Goals section.
Step 2: Once in the Archived Goals section, click on the Ellipsis menu relative to the goal that you want to unarchive.
Step 3: Select Unarchive.
Step 4: Unarchiving a goal also unarchive all the child goals aligned to it. Thus, you would be presented with a confirmation prompt where you can confirm your choice.
Select Unarchive to confirm that you wish to unarchive the goal.
The goal would be unarchived and you can find it in the timeline where it was defined.
Note: A child goal cannot be unarchived separately. To unarchive a child goal, you need to unarchive the entire goal tree as well.